Rise Up

** This is an unmodified poem I found in my archive from before I made this blog. It’s a bit cheesy, but it’s from the time in my teenage years when I had finally started growing into myself **

I was like fire, glowing like the flaming sun,
I was burning, burning till I was all done.
Trying, pleasing, faking my merry way through life, yeah.
I got tired, it got old,
As I got dragged down, flipped around and sent back alone in my hole.

And I realised, there was no point in acting the way I’m not,
No point in living as someone not myself,
And I realised, life went on,
It didn’t matter how tough my problems were,
It didn’t matter if I miserably failed at pleasing others.
For I will rise, high like the sun and stars in the sky above.

And I realised, it didn’t matter if I couldn’t always give people what they wanted.
And I realised, all that mattered was if I could satisfy myself.
It wasn’t over, my passion was yet unleashed,
I could go on, revealing my true self that no one had ever seen before.

I will rise again, come out of my hole,
Take the world by storm, let dumbfounded people ogle.
Live my life truly as if it were truly my own.
I will not let others dim my brightness,
Or throw water on my fuel anymore.

I was like fire burning out, but I will rise up again,
As high as the sun and the stars above,
Let my might sweep the world over.
I will let my golden soul, the soul of a lion, roar.
I will be like a new sun,
Burning brighter than ever,
This time, all of my own accord.

Leave a comment